News Releases

March 19, 2009

Timothy Webb of Newbury Wins Statewide Spelling Bee

MONTPELIER – Timothy Webb of Newbury, a sixth-grade homeschool student representing Newbury Elementary, beat out 44 other local spelling bee champions to win first place in the Vermont State Individual Spelling Bee, the Department of Education announced today.

Students from across Vermont competed at the Theater at St. Michael’s College in Colchester on Wednesday. Mael Le Scouezec of Craftsbury Academy came in second and Ezekiel Benshirim of Williston Central School came in third. Champion Webb will now compete in the Scripps-Howard National Spelling Bee in Washington. D.C. in May.

The bee was sponsored by the Vermont Principals Association, the Vermont Department of Education, the Vermont Humanities Council and the Burlington Free Press. Additional sponsors will aid in funding the trip to Washington for Webb and his family.

Adam Silverman of the Burlington Free Press served as pronouncer for the event. Commissioner Armando Vilaseca was on hand to present the awards.

For more information, contact Jill Remick at the Department of Education at (802) 828-3154, or Bob Johnson at the Vermont Principals Association at (802) 229-0547.

Following is a list of all the regional winners who competed in the statewide bee.

Albany Community School

Gratia Rowell

Albert D. Lawton School Cheshta Singh

Barre City School Cody Fisher

Barre Town School William McWhinney

Bennington Elementary Connor Tilley

Blue Mtn Jr High Taylor Lamberton

Bridport Central School Tor Bright

Brighton Elementary Alexander Cope

Browns River Middle Sam Lewis

Camels Hump Middle School Marissa Kelemen

Charlotte Central School Abigail Postlewaite

Craftsbury School Mael Lescouezec

Crossett Brook School Evan Hoffman

Danville School Shaylyn Clancy

Edmunds Middle School Eleanor Eagan

Fletcher Elementary School Caleb Weis

Flood Brook School Jenna D'Olivo

Glover Community School Caroline Lawlor

Harwood Middle School Sophie Rayfield

Lyman C. Hunt Middle Amanda Schwartz

Main Street Middle School Laura Mears

Missisquoi Valley Middle Taylor Marquis

Molly Stark Elementary Brody Farnum

Monument Elementary Austin Cobb

Mt. Anthony Middle School Keara Sternberg

Newbury Elementary Timothy Webb

Newfane Elementary School Meghan Grip

Otter Valley Jr High School Christopher Keyes

Proctor Jr. High School Ardra Landon

Richford Elementary Jessie Clowes

Riverside Day School Evan Tirey

Rutland Intermediate School Maricate Mangan

Shelburne Community School Hila Saxe

South Royalton School David Manning Ballou

St. Marys School Sebastian Huber

Stevens School Ploypailin Intarawut

Stockbridge Central School Robin Goodwin

Stowe Middle School Sam Reed

Swanton Elementary School Ryan Marquis

Tunbridge Central School Andy Ruddell

Walden School Ashlynn Doyon

Wallingford Elementary Eli Burch

Waterford School Daniel Sattelberger

Windsor State Street School Karen Fan

Williston Central School Ezekiel Benshirim

Source: Department of Education
Last Updated at: March 19, 2009 11:05:46