News Releases

May 16, 2016

2016 Poster and Essay Contest Winners

Secretary of State Jim Condos is excited to announce the winning entries from the 2016 Vermont Poster and Essay Contest. The first place student in each category will visit Montpelier with their class on May 24th for a tour of the Vermont State House, the Vermont Historical Society, and an awards celebration with Secretary Condos.

The Awards Ceremony will take place at 12:00 PM, May 24th in the State House, where each first place student is recognized with a certificate and state pin.

This year we received over one hundred entries. It was also the first year we accepted video entries from older students. "It is always a great privilege to view these student submissions. Through their posters and essays, I have a better understanding of the many ways Vermont history and politics is important to each student," stated Secretary Condos. "With so many excellent pieces to choose from, it is always difficult to pick the winners." Second and third place entries are also honored for their outstanding work. These students will be mailed their awards.

The Vermont Secretary of State's Poster and Essay Contest is an annual event to promote awareness of Vermont history, the Vermont Constitution, and the importance of democracy among students in Grades K-12. The program helps encourage younger students to think about Vermont history while asking older students to contemplate the issues that impact them.

This year's award recipients are:

Grades K-2

First Place

Maya Villemaire

2nd Grade: Elm Hill School

Second Place

Samantha Ruth Pedrick

2nd Grade: Reading Elementary School

Third Place

Christian Bisceglia

1st Grade: Killington Elementary School

Grades 3-5

First Place

Molly Luikart

4th Grade: Poultney Elementary School

Second Place

Madison Bowman

4th Grade: Coventry Village School

Third Place

Adelie Tebbetts

4th Grade: Montessori School of Central Vermont

Grades 6-8

First Place

Dylan Haskins

7th Grade: People's Academy Middle Level

Link to video submission (

Second Place

Madeleine Rose Moino

6th Grade: Albert D. Lawton Intermediate School

Grades 9-12

First Place

Ari Randall

9th Grade: Avalon Triumvirate Academy

Media Contact: Liz Ryder, 802-828-2148

Source: Secretary of State
Last Updated at: May 16, 2016 16:28:55