September 15, 2008
Waterbury, VT – Hunters are looking forward to Vermont's two-part archery deer hunting season with enthusiasm this year because of expanded hunting opportunities, according to the Vermont Fish & Wildlife Department. Season dates are October 4 - 26 and December 6 – 14.
Recent changes in regulations have caused increased interest on the part of archery hunters.
Vermont has brought back the three-deer annual limit it had until 2005, so archers may be compelled to be less selective than they were with a two-deer limit. A hunter may now take up to three deer in a calendar year in any combination of seasons (Archery, Youth Weekend, November Rifle Season, December Muzzleloader), but only two may be legal bucks, and only one buck is allowed per season. All three deer in the annual bag limit may be antlerless deer.
A hunter may take up to two deer in Vermont’s archery season with two archery licenses. Only one may be a legal buck, but both can be antlerless deer if hunting in any Wildlife Management Unit (WMU) except D2 and E, where antlerless deer hunting by archery is prohibited in 2008.
In order to purchase an archery license, the hunter must show a certificate of satisfactorily completing a bow hunter education course, or show a previous or current bow hunting license from any state or Canadian province, or sign an affidavit that they have previously held an archery license.
Hunters must have an archery deer hunting license in addition to their standard hunting license, except that nonresidents may purchase an "archery only license" costing $60. Regular archery licenses are $17 for residents and $25 for nonresidents.
Shooting hours are one-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.
Tree stands and ground blinds may only be built or used if the hunter has landowner permission. This includes portable as well as permanent stands and blinds. A hunter constructing or using a stand or blind must permanently mark his or her name and address on it so that it may be conveniently and easily read. Landowners are exempted from this requirement.
On Vermont State Wildlife Management Areas, it is illegal to use nails, bolts or screws, including screw-in climbing steps, or wire, chain or other material that penetrates through the bark.
Because additional restrictions apply, hunters are urged to read the entire law governing the use of stands and blinds on page 17 of the "2008 Vermont Guide to Hunting, Fishing & Trapping," which is available online and where licenses are sold.
Hunters must be at least ten feet from the traveled portion of the road before shooting. This applies in all Vermont hunting seasons.
Hunters who are planning their first Vermont archery deer hunting trip or who are looking for new hunting areas should get a copy of two publications, both available on Fish & Wildlife’s website (vtfishandwildlife.com) under Hunting & Trapping and then “Big Game.” The "2007 Vermont Deer Season Report," gives the number of deer taken in each town in archery, rifle and muzzleloader deer hunting seasons. “Vermont’s Archery Deer Season,” provides the new archery season regulations, superceding those printed in the Guide..
A Hunter Information Kit containing both reports and other information is available from the Vermont Fish & Wildlife Department, 103 South Main Street, Waterbury, VT 05671-0501. Telephone (802) 241-3700.
Vermont hunting and archery licenses may be purchased on Fish & Wildlife’s website (vtfishandwildlife.com).
Source: Agency of Natural Resources
Last Updated at: September 15, 2008 08:52:33