News Releases

April 02, 2013

State Board of Education Elects Officers

Gov. Shumlin joined the State Board of Education’s monthly meeting on Tuesday, March 26th at the Vermont College of Fine Arts to welcome the recently appointed Board members, and to congratulate the newly elected board chair and two co-vice chairs.

Stephan Morse of Newfane was re-elected as chair of the State Board of Education. Morse has served as chair for the past year. The Board, according to statute, elects officers biennially. Sean-Marie Oller of Bennington and Lachlan Francis of Putney were elected co-vice chairs.

Morse was appointed to the Board in 2009 and reappointed by Gov. Shumlin in 2011. He was elected chairman of the Board in 2012.

“I am pleased to have been re-elected chairman of the State Board of Education for another term,” said Morse. “I look forward to working with all our educational partners to make the Vermont education system even better."

Oller was appointed to the Board in 2011 and has served as a member of the Board’s legislative committee. She currently serves as chair of the Southwest Vermont Supervisory Union Board.

“It is an honor to be nominated alongside the state board student representative,” said Sean-Marie Oller. “Lachlan is a very competent, dedicated young man whose allegiance to the future of our state's education is very credible.”

Francis, a student at Brattleboro Union High School, was appointed to the Board in July 2012.

“I am honored and humbled to have been nominated for, and elected as, co-vice chair of the Board,” said Lachlan Francis. “I look forward to continuing to advocate for students across the state of Vermont.”

Gov. Shumlin recently appointed three members to the State Board of Education: Krista Huling of Jeffersonville, Stacy Weinberger of Burlington, and Margaret MacLean of Peacham.

Huling is a social studies teacher at South Burlington High School, and she team-teaches humanities to freshman, and U.S. history to sophomores. Huling works with the Governor’s Institute on Asian Cultures and will be traveling to China this summer with a group of Vermont students.

"I am honored and humbled to be asked to serve on the State Board of Education, especially being the only practicing teacher on the Board," said Krista Huling.

Weinberger is a seasoned educator with expertise in early education classroom teaching, program and staff development, and administration. Most recently, she spent that last ten years at The Bellwether School in Williston, four years as a k/1 teacher and six years as co-director of the school.

“I am honored to serve on the Board and to support the good and important work that’s happening in Vermont's schools,” said Stacy Weinberger. “I am looking forward to working with my fellow Board members to advocate for our most vulnerable students, encourage best practices to make schooling meaningful, and to foster opportunities for student voice and leadership.”

MacLean is an educator with over 30 years’ experience in seven countries. She currently provides professional development support to teachers and school leaders internationally. MacLean has taught at all grade levels from pre-k to grade 6, and has served over 15 years as a school administrator. In 1996 she was Vermont Principal of the Year.

“I hope my service on the Board can bring a global perspective to local decisions,” said Margaret MacLean. “I also hope to support the development of the evolving role of the Board in the Department's transition to an Agency.”

The State Board of Education meets monthly; its discussions focus on policy concerning the education of Vermont students and assuring equal access for all Vermont students to a quality education.

The Vermont State Board of Education currently has ten members and once vacancy (to be appointed by Gov. Shumlin):

• Stephan Morse, Chair, Newfane

• Sean-Marie Oller, Co-Chair, Bennington

• Lachlan Francis, Co-Chair & Student Rep, Putney

• Laura Harris, Student Rep, Williston

• Krista Huling, SBHS Teacher, Jeffersonville

• Bonnie Johnson-Aten, Edmunds Middle School Principal, Montpelier

• Margaret MacLean, Peacham

• Bill Mathis, Brandon

• Stacy Weinberger, Burlington

• Armando Vilaseca, Secretary of Education, Montpelier

Learn more about the Board here:


Source: Agency of Education
Last Updated at: April 02, 2013 10:43:22