News Releases

September 27, 2012

Secretary Condos Announces new Vermont Board of Pharmacy Executive Officer

Secretary of State Jim Condos, and the Vermont Board of Pharmacy are pleased to announce the appointment of Ronald J. Klein, RPh, as Executive Officer of the Board of Pharmacy. As EO, Mr. Klein will be responsible for the day to day operations of the board and will also serve as a resource person for pharmacists and practitioners with prescribing authority throughout the state. Mr. Klein will assist the board in acting efficiently, consistently and impartially in the public interest to pursue and achieve optimal standards of pharmacy practice through communication, education, legislation, licensing, and enforcement.

Following Secretary Condosí request after discussions with the Board of Pharmacy, this new position was authorized by Governor Shumlin to assist in addressing the growing problems of drug abuse and diversion of controlled substances as serious public health issues. Governor Shumlin, Secretary Condos, and the Board of Pharmacy are committed to effectively and efficiently administering and enforcing the laws governing the legal distribution of drugs and the practice of pharmacy. The purpose of these laws is to ensure the quality and safety of drugs administered or dispensed to Vermontís citizens; the competency of persons licensed to practice pharmacy in Vermont; and to prevent the diversion of drugs of abuse from the legal channels of distribution for illegal purposes.

Mr. Klein comes to Montpelier from Montana where he has served as Executive Director of the Montana Board of Pharmacy for the past five years. Prior to that Mr. Klein was an inspector and chief inspector for the Nebraska Board of Pharmacy for nineteen years. During his tenure with the Montana board, the board updated numerous rules, and repealed outdated or obsolete rules, advised the legislature on revisions to the pharmacy practice act, established the clinical pharmacist practitioner program, established limited service pharmacies, established the cancer drug repository program, modernized the pharmacy inspection process, and worked on legislative passage and implementation of a prescription drug registry.

Ron is a graduate of the Creighton University School of Pharmacy, Omaha, NE. After graduation he completed a residency in Hospital Pharmacy at Mercy Hospital and Medical Center, Rockville Centre, New York. He also earned a Master of Science in Pharmacy Administration from St. Johnís University, New York. Ron is a member of the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP), Rho Chi pharmacy honor society, and Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity. He also serves on the executive committee of the National Association of State Controlled Substances Authorities (NASCSA), and is a member of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) where he serves as chairman of the Drug Use and Policy Committee. Mr. Klein has also served as pharmacist in charge of both hospital and community pharmacies.

Mr. Klein is a currently licensed pharmacist in Montana, Nebraska, Illinois, and Texas. At this time he is completing the process for licensure as a Vermont pharmacist.

The Board of Pharmacy is located within the Office of Professional Regulation, a division of the Secretary of Stateís Office responsible for the licensing and discipline of 45 professions and 55,000 licensees. For more information about the regulation of licensed professionals, please contact the Secretary of Stateís Office of Professional Regulation at 828-1505 or on the web at

Source: Secretary of State
Last Updated at: September 27, 2012 13:51:01