News Releases

May 26, 2010

Vermont Secretary of State Deb Markowitz Honors 2010 Poster & Essay Contest Winners

Montpelier, Vt. - Recently, Secretary of State Deb Markowitz honored the winners of the 2010 Vermont Secretary of State’s Poster and Essay Contest by treating them to a rare viewing of the original Vermont Constitution.

In addition to being granted an up-close look at this historic document, the contest winners and their classes were Secretary Markowitz’s guests on a tour of the Vermont State House and the Vermont Historical Society Museum. During an award ceremony, the winning students were presented with a certificate and a $100 prize donated to each student's classroom to spend on civics education materials.

"It was very difficult to select winners from the many fine essays and creative posters we received," stated Secretary Markowitz. "This program is a great way to get younger students thinking about their state and its history, while encouraging older students to examine the nature of self governance and its importance in a free society," said Markowitz.

The Vermont Secretary of State’s Poster and Essay Contest is held as an effort to promote awareness of Vermont history, the Vermont Constitution, and the importance of democracy among students in Grades K-12. Over 300 Vermont students participated in the contest by submitting posters or essays.

A selection of winning posters and essays may be viewed on the Secretary of State’s website at

The award recipients in each of the categories are as follows:

Grades K-2 Poster Contest on Official Vermont Symbols

Class Winner:

Reading Elementary School, Lisa Kaija’s art class

Individual Winner:

Maddy Trimpi, The Pomfret School

Honorable Mention:

Anastasia Page, Shrewsbury Mountain School

Lily Welch, Thetford Elementary School

Grades 3-5 Poster Contest on a Vermont History Theme

Class Winner:

Cornwall Elementary School, Janne Giles 4th Grade

Individual Winner:

Sylvia Sage Holland, Orchard Valley Waldorf School

Honorable Mention:

Hannah Faith Davis, Thetford Elementary

Chris Ward, Waitsfield Elementary

Grades 6-8 Essay Contest on the Vermont Constitution

Individual Winner:

Alex Crompton, Sherburne Elementary

Grades 9-12 Essay Contest on the Vermont Constitution

Individual Winner:

Paige Malone, Burr and Burton Academy

Source: Secretary of State
Last Updated at: May 26, 2010 08:22:47